When is winter? The summer solstice of 2021 falls on December 21, marking the shortest day of the year

The 2021 winter solstice occurs at 10:59 a.m. ET/7:59 a.m. pacific time on Tuesday, December 21, marking the official start of astronomical winter and a short day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere.

In the Southern Hemisphere, that day is the summer solstice and the longest day of the year.

The 23.5-degree tilt in the Earth’s axis of rotation causes the sun’s rise and fall over the course of a year. During the winter solstice, the Northern Hemisphere is tilted at its furthest distance from the sun, bringing in less light and cooler temperatures.

THAN: The moon will appear fully before your eyes tonight, 1 day after the cold moon of 2021

The tilt of the Earth – not our distance from the sun – is what causes winter and summer. In fact, the Earth is closer to the sun in the winter than it is in the summer months.

For those of you who don’t like the frost on your nose, tick your calendar: The first day of spring, also known as the vernal equinox, occurs on Sunday, March 20, at 11:33 a.m. ET/8:33 a.m. PT.

Copyright © 2021 KTRK-TV. Copyright Registered.

https://abc13.com/winter-2021-solstice-first-day-of-december-21/11356723/ When is winter? The summer solstice of 2021 falls on December 21, marking the shortest day of the year

Dais Johnston

USTimeToday is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimetoday.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button