What is the NATO Response Force?

NUMEROUS countries have worked together to reach an agreement known as the North Atlantic Treaty.

The North Atlantic Treaty led to the formation of the international army alliance, NATO and their respective Response Forces.

NATO is a defense organization consisting of 30 different countries


NATO is a defense organization consisting of 30 different countries

What is the NATO Response Force?

NATO Response Force is an urgent and immediate mission mode made up of different military branches.

The NATO Response Force is an international combination of special forces, land, sea and air units who are ready to respond to certain events with limited notice.

The structure behind NRF consists of four different elements.

The four different divisions of the NRF include the Response Force Group, the Initial Tracking Force Group, the Very High Availability Coordination Force, and the Command and Control element.

When was the NATO Response Force first activated?

In response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, the NRF was first activated in February 2022.

NATO Supreme Allied Commander-in-Chief, Tod Wolters, issued a statement to the press about the NRF’s future deployment plans.

“This is a historic moment and the first time the Alliance has used these highly available forces in a deterrent and defensive role,” said General Wolters.

He added: “They represent a reliable, versatile force that can be used in many ways, and we are making full use of their inherent agility.”

“These deterrence measures are prudent and enhance our speed, responsiveness, and ability to shield and protect the one billion citizens we’ve sworn to protect.”

The Commander-in-Chief also said: “We were joined today by our close partners Sweden, Finland and the European Union.”

“President Putin has failed in his goal of dividing the West. NATO is as united and resolute as before and NATO will keep the Door open to European nations that share our values ​​and those who might one day find a way to join our Alliance.”

Follow the Russian invasion of Ukraine live blog for the latest news and updates…

Which countries are members of NATO?

NATO was founded by the 12 founding nations on April 4, 1949.

The countries forming the alliance are: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Other member states that joined after its founding include:

  • Greece and Turkey (1952)
  • Germany (1955),
  • Spain (1982),
  • Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland (1999),
  • Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia (2004)
  • Albania and Croatia (2009)
  • Montenegro (2017)
  • North Macedonia (2020)

Finland, Sweden, Ukraine and Georgia have contributed to NATO and the NRF on previous occasions – but not to the multinational group.

We pay for your stories!

Do you have a story for the American team The Sun? What is the NATO Response Force?

Bobby Allyn

USTimeToday is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button