UK Tourism Update: Which countries are on the red list?

From May 17, international travel has been officially launched in the UK by Global Tourism Task Force, subject to the regulation of the traffic light system.

Since then, the “red list” of highest-risk destinations has fluctuated, but now it is down to just 11 destinations following the government’s latest shakeup, announced on November 25 and April 4. December.

However, from 4:00 a.m. on December 15, the red list will be removed again, leaving it alive but with no countries listed.

Brief summary: on September 17, the Department of Transport (DfT) announced that from October 4, three traffic light listings will be removed, leaving only the red list and the other one. , which represents the “rest of the world” (ROW).

However, ministers stressed that the red classification would remain in place, with updates continuing every three weeks – if more worrying variants were identified, countries would likely added again.

“We will keep the red list intact as a precaution to protect public health and stand ready to add countries and territories back if needed, as the UK’s first line of defense. UK,” tweeted transport secretary Grant Shapps.

After several rounds of redlisting reductions this summer and fall, on November 1, seven countries were finally removed from the list, emptying the redlist and rendering it inactive – for now.

However, the government continued to add 11 African countries to the list in late November and early December, following the appearance of the omicron variant.

Which countries are on the red list?

According to Transport Secretary Grant Shapps, the countries on the red list are “those that should not be visited except in the most extreme circumstances”.

As of December 14, there are 11 countries on the red list. The first 10 were added in an announcement on November 25, while Nigeria was added in an announcement on December 4.

The countries on the current red list are:

  • South Africa
  • Namibia
  • Botswana
  • Angola
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambican
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Nigeria

However, from 4am on Wednesday 15 December, the red list will be removed again, Health Minister Sajid Javid announced on 14 December.

Again, the red list will remain theoretical; Reviews of listings will continue to be conducted every three weeks.

What determines whether a country is high risk or not?

Since the move to use quarantine hotels is primarily in response to new variants of interest to Covid-19, it is likely that a country will be considered “high-risk” if one of the variants worrisome has been identified and disseminated there.

As well as the British Kent variant, named B.1.1.7, other mutations have been found in South Africa (1,351), Brazil (P.1) and India (B.1.617.2). This last variant, known as the Delta variant, is up to 60% more transmissible than the Kent mutation and is already common in the UK. The Beta variant has also been identified as a concern, with France having previously included its own special “plus amber” category in response to this mutation discovered there. The country has been moved back to the amber list in the following travel review.

Read more: Who pays for the hotel quarantine and how long will it last?

According to the second report by the Global Travel Taskforce, published on April 9, the main factors for assessing a country’s risk factor are infection rates, the prevalence of variants that need to be considered. and progress of the immunization program. Data reliability and genome sequencing capabilities were also taken into account.

22 countries on the list of quarantine hotels, Boris Johnson announced

Where are the high-risk tourists and how do they get there?

Some hotels have contracted mandatory quarantine for all red-listed arrivals. Bath Road, which runs parallel to the runway at London Heathrow Airport, has been dubbed the “Isolation Row”.

Travelers are individually “escorted” to their quarantine hotel upon arrival.

Fines of up to £10,000 have been imposed on arrivals who have not gone through the hotel’s prescribed quarantine process, while those who misrepresent their travel history on passenger locator forms faces 10 years in prison.

Visitors must fund the quarantine themselves, which costs £2,285 per person for those traveling alone, including meals and a 10-day (11-night) room. Additional people in the same hotel room will pay less. The second person only pays £1,430, with an extra discount for children aged 5-12: £325 per person. It’s free for children under five years old.

How long is the quarantine?

The current quarantine period for all redlisted people arriving in the UK is 10 days and 11 nights.

When is the next update to the red list?

The next announcement is expected around December 20. UK Tourism Update: Which countries are on the red list?

Tom Vazquez

USTimeToday is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button