This is the last year writers can pick Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens for the Baseball Hall of Fame. Will they make it?

By Steve Almasy | CNN

There was a time when MVP won the national championship 7 times Barry Bonds and seven-time Cy Young Award winner Roger Clemens considered certain, the Chamber of Fame voted first.

But now, in their 10th year of eligibility, two baseball legends have yet to be invited to the National Baseball Hall of Fame – and they’re far from certain.

Both Bonds and Clemens have been implicated in the use of performance-enhancing drugs through the 2007 Mitchell Report by baseball investigator Senator George Mitchell. But both players never failed the MLB test for steroids and Bonds only admitted to using the substances he said he was supposed to be joint balm and linseed oil.

On Tuesday at 6 p.m. ET, the Baseball Writers Association of America will announce whether Bonds, Clemens, and others on this year’s ballot have been selected to feature in Cooperstown, home of Cooperstown. Baseball Hall of Fame in the state of New York.

Bonds and Clemens are not the only controversial former players on the ballot. Alex Rodriguezwho hit 696 home runs in his 22-season career, qualified for the first time, and Sammy Sosa, who hit 609 home runs, is in his final year of qualifying.

Rodriguez tested positive for anabolic steroids in 2003, before being fined, and admitted to using a “banned substance” after the results were leaked in 2009.

Two years later, he is caught up in the investigation of Biophysics clinic provides supplements like human growth hormone and testosterone to players. Rodriguez missed the 2014 season because of a PED suspension for several years.

Tampa Bay Times writer Marc Topkin, who shared his vote in a column on the newspaper’s website, saying that Bonds and Clemens deserve to be involved because each voter gets to choose where they draw a line.

“So I could vote for Bonds and Clemens based on their dominance overall (and to some extent, before PED usage was questioned) but not Manny Ramirez or Alex Rodriguez (first time voting) who failed the tests and was suspended,” he wrote.

Topkin said he will also vote for David Ortiz, who has been speculated by steroid speculation after he reported a positive result in an anonymous survey test in 2003. The official MLB testing program. went into effect the following year and Ortiz never failed.

Some of the votes have been revealed

Ortiz, the all-star 10-time and 3-time World Series champion, is the same as Rodriguez in his first year of qualifying and, according to a vote follower from Ryan Thibodaux, seems to be on its way to being elected. As of 9 p.m. ET Monday, Ortiz had about 85% of the votes cast on the publicly disclosed ballots.

Bonds (77.7%) and Clemens (76.6%) are well above the 75% threshold needed for the election, but less than 50% of the votes can be known, and over the years the real percentage economy on the total number of votes will be lower.

Rodriguez and Sosa, who were also involved in the 2003 survey test, each had too low a voter turnout to be elected.

Look Thibodaux’s Following up, it looks like Ortiz might be the writer’s only choice. If so, he will enter the Hall with ex-player selected in December by the Early Baseball and Golden Ages Committee – Bud Fowler, Buck O’Neil, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso and Tony Oliva.

What some voters said

NBC Sports Bay Area’s Alex Pavlovic, a first-time voter, said he voted for Bonds, Clemens, Rodriguez, Ortiz and others.

“It doesn’t seem logical for a writer to try and choose when it’s pretty obvious that an entire era of the game consists of captured superstars and many others lucky to escape it,” he wrote.

But Mark Faller of the Republic of Arizona wrote that he could not vote for the likes of Bonds and Clemens. He says the staggering statistics from the last years of their careers – a total that no other player has put up – is not to be missed.

“I cannot vote for two people who, by all means appear, brazenly mock the game for their own good. Yes, their team won the championship. Yes, the fans of their team were delighted. That would have to be sufficiently rewarding,” he wrote.

If the vote were based solely on statistics, Bonds, Clemens and Rodriguez would participate.

Bonds, who played on the left for the Pittsburgh Pirates and San Francisco Giants during his 22-year career, is the all-time leader of Major League Baseball with 762 career home runs. He hit a record 73 in one season.

He has been named the National League MVP on a record seven occasions, including four consecutive seasons, and won eight Golden Glove awards for his defensive prowess.

Clemens, a dominant starting pitcher, has racked up 354 wins and 4,672 goals in his 24-year career with the Boston Red Sox, New York Yankees, Toronto Blue Jays and Houston Astros. Clemens is third on the MLB all-time win list and ninth on the all-time win list. He was on two teams that won the Yankees World Series.

Rodriguez finished fourth of all time in home and RBI runs, won three MVPs and is one of the World Series winners. During his career, he played shortstops for the Seattle Mariners and Texas Rangers and third base for the New York Yankees.

Last year was a year of closure

If the writers don’t elect anyone to recommend, it will be the second year in a row and the 10th since voting began in 1936.

Last year, former pitcher Curt Schilling was 16 votes short, leaving only 71.1% of voters.

In a lengthy Facebook post, Schilling asked to be removed from the ballot, but he was included again this time, his final year qualifying on the writers’ ballot.

There’s still a chance Bonds, Clemens, and others who no longer qualify on the writers’ ballots will be voted into the Hall of Fame. This year Today’s Game Era (1988 to present) The Commission will vote in December for 2023.

According to the Hall of Fame, that committee is made up of 16 voters who are either members of the hall, executives or veteran media members.

In 2019, former pitcher Lee Smith and former right winger and designated attacker Harold Baines was elected by the committee.

™ & © 2022 Cable News Network, Inc., a WarnerMedia Company. Copyright Registered. This is the last year writers can pick Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens for the Baseball Hall of Fame. Will they make it?

Huynh Nguyen

USTimeToday is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button