Inside the AFL’s battle with Warner Brothers to trademark the Tasmania Devils

On Wednesday, the AFL finally made good on their word. The league awarded the licence for an 19th AFL team to Tasmania — finally giving representation for the footy-mad state at the top level.

The announcement set out a lot of the details of the new side.

It will enter the league in 2028, and play out of three cities — Penguin in the North West, Launceston in the North and Hobart in the South.

Bobby Allyn

Bobby Allyn is a USTimeToday U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. Bobby Allyn joined USTimeToday in 2022 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with Bobby Allyn by emailing

Related Articles

Back to top button