A Hindu religious leader is demanding an apology from Baskin-Robbins for not disclosing the presence of beef in his Rocky Road ice cream. Reported today. On August 1, Rajan Zed, Hindu statesman and president of the Universal Society of Hinduism, issued a press release stating, “It was shocking for Hindus to learn” that the popular flavor of ice cream contained beef. Zed specifically had trouble with it Ice cream with marshmallowsthat contain gelatin from pigs and cows. Although gelatin is known to be a beef-based product, the animal source was not explicitly mentioned on the ice cream’s packaging. Zed only learned of the presence of beef after contacting Baskin-Robbins customer service, who said that “the gelatin in Rocky Road comes from both pork and beef.”
“The consumption of beef is in stark contradiction to the beliefs of the Hindus. Cow, the seat of many deities, is sacred and has long been revered in Hinduism,” Zed wrote, adding that it was “difficult to understand” why the “world’s largest ice cream chain” came into being. Cream shops didn’t think of it specifically too mention that their product contains beef.
In addition to an apology, Zed has asked the CEO of Baskin-Robbins’ parent company, Inspire Brands, to recall all Rocky Road packaging and boxes and to update the ingredient list with the source of the gelatin. In a statement to Today, Baskin-Robbins claimed that the company “complies with all regulatory standards and strives to provide clear, simple nutritional and ingredients information on menus and labels.”