Fast facts about Heisman Trophy – KESQ

CNN editorial research

Here’s a look at college football Heisman Trophy.


The Heisman Memorial Trophy is awarded every year for “the best football player in the United States.”

December 11, 2021 – University of Alabama defender Bryce Young presented with the Heisman Memorial Trophy.

January 5, 2021 – Alabama-wide receiver DeVonta Smith wins Heisman via a virtual ceremony because of pandemic caused by corona virus. He is First wide range recorder to win the award since 1991.

About the Cup

Heisman Memorial Trophy named in honor of longtime college football coach John W. Heisman, who is also the athletic director of the New York City Center Sports Club.

The trophy is 13.5 inches tall, weighs 45 lbs, and is cast in bronze.

The model for the trophy was Ed Smith, a New York University player in 1934.

School with the most wins: Notre Dame and the University of Oklahoma tied for seven winners, and Ohio State with seven. (One player won twice – see below)

Voting and awarding process

The Heisman Trophy Trust oversees voting.

There are 927 votes: The “division representative” selected 145 voters, usually sports journalists, in six regions of the country, for 870 votes. Each previous Heisman winner can vote (56) and get a fan vote through a special program. (as of 2020)


1935 – The first award, originally called the DAC (Downtown Sports Club of New York) Award, went to Jay Berwanger, a senior at the University of Chicago.

1936 – The award was renamed in honor of John Heisman.

1961 – Ernie Davis, the Syracuse University quarterback, was the first African-American to win.

1968 – Winners are back OJ Simpson, from the University of Southern California.

1975 – Archie Griffin became the only person to win twice. The Ohio State runner won in 1974 and 1975.

1997 – Charles Woodson, a fullback for the University of Michigan, was the first defensive player to win.

2007 – The University of Florida’s second quarterback, Tim Tebow, was the first undergrad to win. Prizes are usually given to juniors and seniors.

September 13, 2010 – 2005 winner Reggie Bush (USC) stripped of award after an investigation shows that he broke the rules of the NCAA by accepting gifts and privileges from the agents to become.

December 8, 2012 – Texas A&M Freshman Defender Johnny Manziel is the first freshman to win the title.

™ & © 2021 Cable News Network, Inc., a WarnerMedia Company. Copyright Registered.

https://kesq.com/news/2021/12/13/heisman-trophy-fast-facts-2/ Fast facts about Heisman Trophy – KESQ


USTimeToday is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimetoday.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button