David Ortiz was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame; Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens eliminated – San Bernardino Sun

By JAKE SEINER AP Baseball Writer

David Ortiz was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in his first turn on the ballot, while steroid stars Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens were denied entry to Cooperstown for their final year under scrutiny by the baseball team. Baseball Writers Association of America.

Ortiz, a clutch racer and 10-time All-Star in more than 20 major seasons with the Boston Red Sox, was on 77.9% of the votes announced Tuesday, surpassing the required 75% threshold. for storage. He is the fourth designated main assassin to be elected to the Hall.

Big Papi was one of baseball’s most recognizable faces of the 2000s and 2010s. His grin was adored by fans, but the Dominica’s heavy goal posed a threat to pitchers. ball, especially in the late innings. He had 23 close-in goals, including three in the 2004 post-season while Boston ended a World Series 86-year drought.

Ortiz won .286 with 541 home runs against Boston and Minnesota while making 88% of his plate appearances as the designated hitter, the most of anyone in the Hall. . He beats Edgar Martinez, who was DH with 71.7% of his table appearances. Frank Thomas and Harold Baines are the only Hall members who go to DH more than half the time.

He is also the fourth player born in the Dominican Republic, along with Juan Marichal, Pedro Martinez and Vladimir Guerrero.

Ortiz also had PED baggage, but enough voters chose to ignore a positive test given in the supposedly anonymous 2003 survey test. Ortiz has denied taking steroids, and Commissioner Rob Manfred said in 2016 “I think it would be a mistake” to remove him from the Hall of Fame based on that single test.

The three-time World Series champion remains in public view in retirement as a studio analyst for Fox Sports’ post-season coverage. He was briefly sidelined in 2019 after being ambushed and shot in the Dominican Republic. His recovery required three surgeries, and doctors removed his gallbladder along with parts of his intestines and colon. He was back in the air in the post-season four months after the shooting.

Ortiz will be enshrined in Cooperstown, New York, on July 24 with the selection of the era committee Buck O’Neil, Minnie Miñoso, Gil Hodges, Tony Oliva, Jim Kaat and Bud Fowler.

Bonds, Clemens and Curt Schilling were all rejected in the 10th and final year of the BBWAA vote. The Bonds are career leaders in the sport, and Clemens have won a record seven Cy Young Awards, but voters have denied them the game’s highest honor because of suspicions they’re using amphetamines. performance enhancement. Bonds received 66% of the vote and Clemens 65.2%.

Schilling’s support plummeted after he finished 16 votes in 2021. Many voters chose not to support the right due to the hateful remarks he made in retirement towards Muslims, transgender people, journalists and others.

Schilling has asked the Hall to remove him from this year’s vote, but he remains an option. He was named on 58.6% of the vote, down from 71.1% last year.

Bonds, Clemens and Schilling are done on the BBWAA ballot, but they will be reviewed again next year by the Game Era Today committee. A 16-person committee of Hall members, executives and veteran media members will convene next December to consider which players who played between 1988-2016 are no longer eligible for selection. BBWAA.

Among those who voted for the first time, Alex Rodriguez and Jimmy Rollins received the most support.

Rodriguez won three MVPs and hit 696 home players but also used PED to clear his case. He was banned from Major League Baseball for the entire 2014 season after violating the league’s drug policy. Voters called his name on 34.3% of the vote.

Rollins, a four-time Golden Glove winner with Philadelphia, appeared on 9.4% of the vote and was the only first to earn the necessary 5% still under consideration. Joe Nathan, Tim Lincecum and Ryan Howard were among the 10 players who made it.

The only others to earn more than 50% support were third person Scott Rolen (63.2%, up from 52.9%), first person Todd Helton (52%, up from 44.9%) and reliever Billy Wagner (51%, up from 46.4%) ). Midfielder Andruw Jones also increased, increasing from 33.9% to 41.1%.

Next year’s vote will bring up a new issue of contention when Carlos Beltrán joins the vote. The nine-time All-Star player was punished by MLB ahead of the 2020 season and fired from his position as manager of the New York Mets for his key role in the Houston Astros’ sign-stealing scandal .

Beltrán will likely be joined in the vote by former Angels players John Lackey and Jered Weaver, as well as former Red Sox quarterback Jacoby Ellsbury and midfielder Jayson Werth, who played two seasons with the Dodgers.

More on this story.

Boston Red Sox-designated attacker David Ortiz watches his home field two-time runner fly in front of Oakland Athletics pitcher Ben Sheets during the fifth inning of a game at Fenway Park in Boston on June 2, 2010. Ortiz was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in his first appearance on the ballot. (AP Photo / Charles Krupa)

https://www.sbsun.com/2022/01/25/david-ortiz-elected-to-baseball-hall-of-fame-barry-bonds-roger-clemens-left-out/ David Ortiz was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame; Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens eliminated – San Bernardino Sun

Tom Vazquez

USTimeToday is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimetoday.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button