Cyclones RB Hall, Bears ‘Aranda, Pitre win AP Big 12 title

Iowa State rerun Breece Hall was the Associated Press Big 12’s offensive player for the year for the second year in a row, while conference champion Baylor had the league’s top defender and coach.

Baylor safety senior Jalen Pitre was named Defensive Player of the Year and Bears sophomore coach Dave Aranda was also named on the AP All-Big 12 team, and the award was announced Thursday, as determined by a panel of 20 sports writers and broadcasters who regularly cover the tournament.

Hall is the leader in the Big 12 dashing with 1,464 yards and 20 touchdowns this season, and has an active FBS record of 24 consecutive games with a quick touchdown. The junior, who got 16 out of 20 votes for the top offensive player, has 3,941 career-fast dashes.


Texas freshman Xavier Worthy, who had 62 catches and led the Big 12 with 981 yards and 12 TDs, was voted newcomer of the year. He was also a first team selected in the All-Big 12 in the recipient.

Aranda received 15 out of 20 votes for coach of the year. Mike Gundy of Oklahoma State, which lost to Baylor in the Big 12 championship match, took the remaining five.

Pitre, the first-place safety team for the second year in a row, has 17 losses and be the only player in the country during the regular season with at least three forced fumbles, three clumsy recalls, and two interceptions. Pitre got 12 out of 20 votes for top defensive player while Oklahoma State full-back Malcolm Rodriguez, with a total of 119 top tackles in the league, received 5 votes.


The 2021 AP All-Big 12 team, selected by a panel of 20 sports writers and sports broadcasters who regularly cover the tournament, with players listed alphabetically with name, school, height, weight, class and hometown. (“U-” denotes unanimous choice):




QB – Brock Purdy, Iowa State, 6-1, 220, Sr., Gilbert, Arizona.

RB – Breece Hall, Iowa State, 6-1, 220, Jr., Wichita, Kansas.

RB – Bijan Robinson, Texas, 6-0, 214, So., Tucson, Arizona.

T – Cooper Beebe, Kansas State, 6-3, 320, So., Kansas City, Kansas.

T – Connor Galvin, Baylor, 6-7, 310, Sr., Katy, Texas.

G – Josh Sills, Oklahoma State, 6-6, 325, Sr., Sarahville, Ohio.

G – Trevor Downing, Iowa State, 6-4, 310, Jr., Creston, Iowa.

C – Steve Avila, TCU, 6-4, 334, Jr., Arlington, Texas.

TE – u-Charlie Kolar, Iowa State, 6-6, 260, Sr., Norman, Oklahoma.

WR – Xavier Worthy, Texas, 6-1, 160, Fr., Fresno, California.

WR – Xavier Hutchinson, Iowa State, 6-3, 230, Sr., Jacksonville, Florida.

Versatile – Trestan Ebner, Baylor, 5-11, 215., Sr., Henderson, Texas.

K – Jonathan Garibay, Texas Tech, 6-1, 215, Sr., Rubidoux, California.


DE – Felix Anudike-Uzomah, Kansas State., 6-3, 255, So., Kansas City, Missouri.


DE —Will McDonald IV, Iowa State, 6-4, 245, Jr., Pewaukee, Wisconsin.

DT – Siaki Ika, Baylor, 6-4, 350, So., Salt Lake City, Utah.

DT – Dante Stills, West Virginia, 6-4, 280, Sr., Fairmont, West Virginia.

LB – Terrel Bernard, Baylor, 6-1, 222, Sr., La Porte, Texas.

LB – Malcolm Rodriguez, Oklahoma State, 5-11, 225, Sr., Wagoner, Oklahoma.

LB— Mike Rose, Iowa State, 6-4, 250, Sr., Brecksville, Ohio.

CB – Jarrick Bernard-Converse, Oklahoma State, 6-1, 200, Sr., Shreveport, Louisiana.

CB – Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU, 5-9, 177, Jr., Waco, Texas.

S – Kolby Harvell-Peel, Oklahoma State., 6-0, 207, Sr., College Station, Texas.

S – Jalen Pitre, Baylor, 6-0, 197, Sr., Stafford, Texas.

P – Michael Turk, Oklahoma, 6-0, 230, Sr., Dallas.



QB – Caleb Williams, Oklahoma, 6-1, 218, Fr., Washington DC

RB – Abram Smith, Baylor, 5-11, 221, Sr., Abilene, Texas.

RB – Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State, 5-6, 173, So., Round Rock, Texas.


T – Derek Kerstetter, Texas, 6-5, 310, Sr., San Antonio.

T – Tyrese Robinson, Oklahoma, 6-3, 324, Sr., McKinney, Texas.

G – The Marquis of Hayes, Oklahoma, 6-5, 325, Sr., St. Louis.

G – Chris Murray, Oklahoma 6-1, 301, Sr., Palmdale, California.

C – Jacob Gall, Baylor, 6-2, 305, Sr., Cincinnati.

TE – Jeremiah Hall, Oklahoma, 6-2, 248, Sr., Charlotte, North Carolina.

WR – Tay Martin, Oklahoma State, 6-3, 186, Sr., Houma, Louisiana.

WR – Tyquan Thornton, Baylor, 6-3, 182, Sr., Miami.

All-Purpose – Malik Knowles, Kansas State 6-3, 195, Mansfield, Texas.

K – Gabe Brkic, Oklahoma, 6-3, 201, Jr., Chardon, Ohio.


DE – Brock Martin, Oklahoma State, 6-3, 250, Sr., Oologah, Oklahoma.

DE – Collin Oliver, Oklahoma State, 6-2, 225, Fr., Oklahoma City.

DT – Eyioma Uwazurike, Iowa State, 6-6, 320, Sr., Detroit.

DT – Perrion Winfrey, Oklahoma., 6-4, 292, Sr., Maywood, Illinois.

LB – Brian Asamoah, Oklahoma, 6-1, 228, Jr., Columbus, Ohio.


LB – Nik Bonitto, Oklahoma, 6-3, 240, Jr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

LB – Colin Schooler, Texas Tech, 6-2, 230, Sr., Dana Point, California.

CB – DaMarcus Fields, Texas Tech, 6-0, 200, Sr., Taylor, Texas.

CB – Christian Holmes, Oklahoma State, 6-1, 205, Sr., Leland, Mississippi.

S – Kenny Logan, Jr., Kansas, 6-0, 205, Jr., St. Augustine, Florida.

S – Russ Yeast, Kansas State, 5-10, 195, Sr., Danville, Kentucky.

P – Austin McNamara, Texas Tech, 6-4, 195, Jr., Gilbert, Arizona.


Coach of the Year – Dave Aranda, Baylor.

Offensive Player of the Year – Breece Hall, RB, Iowa State.

Defensive Player of the Year – Jalen Pitre, S, Baylor.

Newcomer of the Year – Xavier Worthy, WR, Texas.


AP All-Big 12 Voting Panel: Ryan Aber, The Oklahoman; Eric Bailey, Tulsa World; Kirk Bohls, Austin-American; Chuck Carlton, Dallas Morning News; Brian Davis, Austin-American; Drew Davison, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Arne Green, Salina Magazine; Travis Hines, Des Moines Register; Eric Kelly, KWKT-TV, Waco, Texas; Eli Lederman, Tulsa World; Sean Manning, The Dominion Post; Jesse Newell, Kansas City Star; Randy Peterson, Des Moines Register; Ryan Pritt, Charleston Gazette-Mail; Kellis Robinett, Wichita Eagle; Carlos Silva, Jr., Lubbock Avalanche-Journal; Matt Tait, Lawrence Journal World; John Werner, Waco Tribune-Herald; Don Williams, Lubbock Avalanche Magazine; Scott Wright, The Oklahoman.



More AP college football: and

Copyright 2021 The Associated Press. Copyright Registered. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without permission. Cyclones RB Hall, Bears ‘Aranda, Pitre win AP Big 12 title

Huynh Nguyen

USTimeToday is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button