You can Cancel matchmaking in Splatoon 3, but it is a delicate process. For some reason the option to stop joining a game is not available throughout the process. This is made all the more frustrating by the fact that it’s incredibly easy to skip the ending stats and start matchmaking again.
How to stop matchmaking in Splatoon 3
There are several ways to cancel matchmaking in Splatoon 3:
- Within the allotted time, press the Cancel Matchmaking button
- Close the game and restart it
There is a button to stop matchmaking in game. Unfortunately, it disappears very quickly after the process starts. When matchmaking begins, you will notice a cancel prompt in the upper left portion of the screen. While this prompt is displayed, you can press the minus (-) key to exit matchmaking.
Unfortunately, you have very little time to finish matchmaking once it’s started. The prompt is only available for a few seconds, after which you are locked out until you join.
However, there is a way to stop the process even after the cancel prompt is gone. Just press the home button, then X and close the game. After that, you can restart it and continue playing normally.
There is a restriction on closing the game. If you do it too late, you might join a game before you can close the game. If this is the case, you will be penalized and the game will end for the other players.
https://www.gamerevolution.com/guides/714834-splatoon-3-stop-matchmaking-cancel-match Splatoon 3 Stop Matchmaking: Is there a way to cancel a match?