RALEIGH, NC (WNCN) – If you get a speeding ticket in another state, you could face repercussions in North Carolina.
Katy Reines of Chapel Hill forgot a speeding ticket she received in Virginia about 10 months ago. She thought everything was settled after paying the $286 fine — until this month she received a letter from North Carolina’s DMV suspending her driver’s license for 30 days.
“I was just confused about what I should have done differently and how this long-ago ticket is impacting me now,” said Reines.
According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation and DMV Communications Manager Marty Homan, if a driver receives a ticket for driving 15 miles per hour over the speed limit, or at least 80 miles per hour in a 70-mile range, a driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days moves.
The license is suspended even if the offense occurs in another state.
“A lot of people don’t know that, but it is,” Homan said.
Reines opened the letter one day before the suspension came into effect. She called the number on the letter to inquire about a hearing and said she was told “it probably wasn’t going to happen in a timely manner.”
Homan says there is a 10-day window from when the notification was sent to when it was suspended.
“We recognize that the 10-day window is not enough,” Homan said.
He said the DMV is aware of delays in the mail, resulting in people having less time to request a hearing after receiving the letter. Homan said the DMV is working with postal agencies to fix the problem.
If you receive a letter without sufficient time to respond, or receive the letter after the suspension went into effect, Homan said to take a photo of the postmark and notify the DMV immediately.
Homan said you can still request a hearing, even if a hearing date is not available until after the suspension goes into effect. He said the suspension was on hold pending the hearing.
“We will be able to determine that you did not have sufficient time to request the hearing before the license was suspended and we will work with you on that,” Homan said.
Homan said the DMV was trying to get lawmakers to change the 10-day limit to 30 days.
“I think 30 days would be more helpful, 10 days is tough, especially when you have to mail things, and if you work longer you might not be able to go to the post office,” Reines said.
Homan said drivers can call the commissioner hotline at 919-615-7000 for assistance with their suspension letter.
https://www.cbs17.com/news/north-carolina-news/given-a-speeding-ticket-out-of-state-your-nc-drivers-license-could-be-suspended/ Have you received an out-of-state speeding ticket? Your NC driver’s license could be suspended