Sport

Chelsea’s Trevoh Chalobah chastises the referee as he revealed he needed STEPS in the groin area after Keita lunge went unpunished

TREVOH CHALOBAH has punished referee Stuart Atwell for allowing Liverpool’s Naby Keita to stay on after a challenge for the ball left him with stitches in the groin area.

The Chelsea the star and his teammates have suffered Carabao Cup Finals defeat to the Reds at Wembley on Sunday.

Trevoh Chalobah has made the decision to book only Naby Keita at Wembley

2

Trevoh Chalobah has made the decision to book only Naby Keita at WembleyCredit: Getty
The Chelsea star needs stitches in his groin after being caught by Liverpool's ace

2

The Chelsea star needs stitches in his groin after being caught by Liverpool’s aceCredit: AP

Thomas Tuchel and Jurgen Klopp’s men battled out a goalless draw against the Blues keeper Kepa missed his crucial kick to send the trophy to Anfield.

However, one of the highlights of the match came midway through the second half when Chalobah and Keita collided.

Two players were fighting for a hot ball in the middle of the field before both were sent flying.

Referee Atwell initially allowed play to continue before stopping action in the 58th minute when it was shown that Keita had accidentally inserted a nail into Chalobah’s inner thigh.

Keita received a yellow card, but after VAR intervention it was deemed no need for further punishment.

Chelsea legend and now Sky Sports pundit Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink later furiously admitted his ‘surprise’ at the decision.

FREE BET: GET MORE THAN £2,000 IN NEW CUSTOMER DEBTS

“I’m surprised nothing has been said about it,” he said. We’re looking at it now but for me Kieta’s movement slows down.

“Then he went to deal with it. Both dribbled but Keita completely missed the ball. If you look here, he completely missed the ball and hit the player very hard.

“And for me, that is endangering the opposition. Danger to a player and that should be a red card. I don’t understand the referee didn’t see it.

“And I don’t understand at all that VAR hasn’t been watched because this is really bad. I was surprised, very, very surprised. ”

Sky Sports Twitter action later shared a clip of the challenge as Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville discussed it.

And that led to Chalobah, 22, who scored in the penalty shootout, sharing it and captioning it: “Had to sew up for this. The referee is right there but I don’t understand?? ”

Read ours Blog News Football Live on breaking news, transfer rumors and must-read stories

https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/17771212/chelsea-trevoh-chalobah-slams-referees-keita/ Chelsea’s Trevoh Chalobah chastises the referee as he revealed he needed STEPS in the groin area after Keita lunge went unpunished

Ashley

USTimeToday is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@ustimetoday.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button