A slow start to the Ashes series could mean the end of hope

England open their Ashes campaign in Brisbane on Tuesday night knowing that a strong start to the series will be crucial.

Australia has a tradition of setting the tone at Gabba, unbeaten in the Ash Test there since 1986 and going on to win all but a home series since then.

No team has yet won the Ashes after their first test loss since England in a forgettable 2005 series and here PA news agency take a look at the importance of the opening goal.

Recent record

The first test is always important in the Ashes sequence (PA graphics)

Seven of the 11 series this century and 13 of the previous 19 were won by the team in the First Test – and exceptions include the series drawn in 2019 and drawn out in the First Test in 2009 and 2010-11.

Only four teams in the post-war era have won a series of Ashes after losing the First Test, and England know that to get there, they will have to repeat some of the most memorable streaks in history. history.

As in 2005, fondly remembered as “the greatest series ever” after England recovered from their opening loss to Lord to a 2-1 win with thrilling victories at Edgbaston and Trent Bridge, the list also includes “The Ashes of Botham” in 1981.

Taking that opportunity, the spell almighty filmed the Third Test at Headingley on top of it with 149 no outs – Bob Willis finished the job with eight goals in 43 runs – then lost five 11 goals to stop Australia from chasing 151 at Edgbaston and adding a century and a match five goals at Old Trafford.

Australia overcame a 1-0 deficit to beat England 3-2 in 1997, while the last time a team that won the Ashes in Australia lost in the opening game was in 1954-55.

By group

  • Australia: won 22, lost 6, drew 3
  • England: won 16, lost 6, drew 1

Both teams have strong records when they won the first game of the Ashes series but Australia’s dominance was especially evident.

Excluding the one-match “series”, Australia opened with a win over England on 31 occasions and went on to win 22 of them, England won six and the remaining three ended the first half.

England have a 16-6 win-lose record after starting with a win, with only a series of draws in 1972. Prior to 1997, Australia had gone 60 years without a series win in those circumstances, so if You can start with a bang in Brisbane, the omens are very positive.

A first test drawn is understandably less predictive, only three such sequences will play out at the end level. England have a 9-7 advantage over other teams, with a recent series particularly encouraging Joe Root’s side – in 2010-11.

In Australia

Alastair Cook, center, Jonathan Trott, left, and Andrew Strauss beat England to a draw to set up their 2010-11 series win (Gareth Copley/PA)

(PA Archive)

The last time a series started with a draw, 11 years ago, it culminated in England’s only win streak with Down since 1987.

The holidaymakers won’t want to rely on a repeat of that performance – with a second pass of 517 for someone declared an unlikely prospect – but avoid failure in whatever fashion it brings. hope.

Of their four series wins Down Under since the aforementioned 1954-55 series, when England were beaten by one play in Brisbane but won the next three thanks to the pace of Frank Tyson and Brian Statham and run of Peter May and Colin Cowdrey, they have twice won and two First Test draws.

Australia have been on a streak after each of their opening nine wins at home in that time, suggesting Root and co simply have to break the “Gabbatoir” spell this winter. A slow start to the Ashes series could mean the end of hope


USTimeToday is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button